Modeling aerial screw propeller in heliciel Modeling boat screw propeller in heliciel Modeling screw propeller ventilation fan in heliciel Modeling screw propeller wind turbine in heliciel Tidal turbine modeling in heliciel Kaplan turbine modeling in heliciel
counterrotating screw propeller /contra prop / contrarotatif
This article provides an example design of a pair of contra-rotating propellers with software HELICIEL counterrotating propeller is used

stator en amont d'une turbine

For completeness, the Heliciel software must enable the design of contra-rotating propellers, incorporating a parameter tangential flow upstream ...explanation:
The counterrotating propeller consists of two counter-rotating propellers:

contra rotatif

The first propeller is optimized as a normal propeller.We therefore use héliciel to calculate and create a normal propeller.

For example we will use (let's open a model of air proppeller and set parameters):

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

The second propeller, which is located downstream, will receive a diverted fluid stream (tangential component) and accelerated (axial component) by the upstream propeller. The second propeller must therefore be twisted, and pitch optimized with fluid parameters speed, different from the first. It will of course also have a reverse rotation. To create our downstream propeller, we will use the results of our upstream propeller to determine the fluid velocity at the inlet and the tangential component parametrer:
In the results area, from our upstream propeller, at the element at around 0.75 times the radius of the blade (element 4) (most effective area of the propeller), we note the downstream axial velocity: 60.2 m/sec (ce sera la vitesse fluide de notre seconde helice) et la vitesse avale tangentielle:7.7rad/sec (ce sera la valeur de l' introduction de flux tangentiel de notre seconde hélice)

vitesse tangentielle en aval de l'hélice

After you have saved our upstream propeller, we transform it, to downstream propeller by changing the fluid velocity from 56 m/sec to 60.2 m/sec, because it is this axial speed that receive our downstream propeller.

helice aval contrarotative

The propeller also diverted upstream flow, in rotation,we will use the parameters menu / introduce tangential flow, to enter our value of 7.7 rad / sec previously noted. Note that the value of the tangential flow introduced must be negative, in our case, because it is contrary to the direction of rotation:

introduction vitesse tangentielle helice contra rotative

We have to rebuild with this new data, to calculate the twist and the performance of our downstream propeller:

helice contrarotative avale

We reverse the direction of rotation in the 3D tab to rebuild an inverted geometry before export to a cad to igs formats

 

the thrust forces, of the upstream and downstream propeller, will be cumulative, as well as their torque to the shaft and power, if you want to know the power, torque and total thrust from our counterrotating propeller. The efficiency can sometimes exceed 1 at the downstream propeller, because it is calculated without taking into account the contribution of the tangential flow of energy that is brought​​, and thus gives a surplus of abnormal power. But the average efficiencies of the two propellers will give us an overall efficiency therefore more realistic and less than 1.
The design function of contrarotating propellers, has been made ​​possible by the ability to parameterize a contribution tangential flow upstream of the propellers. This also allows the calculation of rotor stator pairs ... This feature is in beta, feel free to send me your comments to improve it..

Présentation de la suite de logiciels mecaflux:
Modelisation helice aerienne dans heliciel Modelisation helice bateau dans heliciel Modelisation helice ventilation dans heliciel Modelisation helice eolienne dans heliciel Modelisation hydrolienne dans heliciel Modelisation helice kaplan dans heliciel
helice contrarotative
Cet article donne un exemple de conception d'une paire d'hélices contra rotatives avec le logiciel HELICIEL Ses avantages font que l'hélice contrarotative est utilisée

stator en amont d'une turbine

Pour être complet, Heliciel se devait donc d' envisager la conception des hélices contra rotatives en intégrant un paramètre d' introduction de flux tangentiel ...explication:
L'hélice contrarotative se compose de deux hélices tournant en sens contraire.

contra rotatif

La première helice est optimisée comme une hélice normale.(On utilisera donc héliciel pour calculer et créer une hélice normale de propulsion marine aérienne , eolienne, ou hydrolienne.) .

Pour exemple, ouvrons un modele helice aerienne et parametrons la comme suit:nous prendrons

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

 

La seconde hélice qui sera placée en aval recevra un courant de fluide dévié (composante tangentielle) et accéléré (composante axiale) par l'hélice amont. La seconde hélice devra donc avoir un vrillage et un calage optimisé avec des paramètres de vitesse fluide légèrement différent de la première. Elle devra bien sur aussi avoir un sens de rotation inversé. Pour créer notre hélice avale, nous allons utiliser les résultats de notre helice amont pour connaître la vitesse de fluide en entrée et la composante tangentielle a parametrer:

Dans la zone résultat de notre helice amont ,au niveau de l' élément situé aux environs de 0.75 fois le rayon de pale (element4) (zone la plus efficace de l'hélice), nous allons relever la vitesse aval axiale: 60.2 m/sec (ce sera la vitesse fluide de notre seconde helice) et la vitesse avale tangentielle:7.7 rad/sec (ce sera la valeur de l' introduction de flux tangentiel de notre seconde hélice)

vitesse tangentielle en aval de l'hélice

Apres avoir bien pris soins d' enregistrer notre helice amont, nous allons la transformer en hélice aval en modifiant la vitesse fluide de 56 m/sec par la valeur relevée précédemment:60.2 m/sec car c'est cette vitesse que percevra notre hélice aval.

helice aval contrarotative

L'hélice amont à aussi dévié le flux en rotation, nous allons donc utiliser le menu paramètres/ introduire flux tangentiel. pour entrer notre valeur de 7.7 rad/sec relevé précédemment. Notez que la valeur du flux tangentiel introduit doit être négative dans notre cas car elle est contraire au sens de rotation:

introduction vitesse tangentielle helice contra rotative

Il nous reste plus qu 'a lancer la reconstruction avec ces nouvelles données pour calculer le vrillage et les performances de notre hélice aval:

 

Il faudra bien sur penser a inverser le sens de rotation sous l' onglet 3D pour reconstruire une géométrie inversée avant l' export vers votre cao au format igs:

helice contrarotative avale

 

les performances de poussées, de l 'hélice amont et avale, devront donc être cumulées, ainsi que leur couple à l'arbre et leur puissance si l'on veut connaître la puissance , couple et poussée totale de notre helice contrarotative. Le rendement pourra parfois dépasser 1 au niveau de l'hélice avale, car il est calculé sans tenir compte de l' apport d'énergie du flux tangentiel introduit qui est récupéré et qui donne donc un surplus de puissance anormal. Mais la moyenne des rendements des deux hélices nous donnera un rendement global, donc plus réaliste et inférieur a 1.
La fonction de conception des hélices contrarotatives à été rendue possible par la possibilité de parametrer un apport de flux tangentiel en amont des hélices. Ceci permet aussi de calculer des couples rotors stator ...Cette fonction est en version beta , n' hésitez pas a me faire part de vos observations pour l' améliorer.