Modeling aerial screw propeller in heliciel Modeling boat marine screw propeller in Heliciel Modeling screw propeller ventilation with heliciel Modeling wind turbine in heliciel tidal turbine modeling in heliciel Kaplan propeller modeling in heliciel
a short History of screw propellers

What could be , apparently , simpler than the screw propeller ? It seems that the man found in nature this form suitable for what he expected..

first natural propeller

In fact, the history of propeller took a few centuries to reach this mysterious simplicity.

wing, impeller, rowing, windmill, in their various forms, these are the ancestors of our screw propeller ......

This is the ancient Chinese civilization that used the first screw propeller, as water lift..And we have found traces of this water lift on the Nile  où, where several centuries before the Christian era, we used the "Egyptian snail" which can be considered as a screw propeller "motion drive" fluid:

.first screw propeller

 history first screw propeller

That is, it is said, Archytas(-428/-360),disciple of Pythagoras, who "renews" the invention. Which was used by Archimedes (-287/-212)for a different purpose: as a screw conveyor to ensure a horizontal mechanical translation of different objects. In this form, the "Archimedes screw" is still used in some plants for removing machining chips for example.

The conquest of wind energy , does not date from yesterday, and needs to convert wind energy into mechanical energy will lead to invent the turbine capture energy from the fluid. History teaches us that the windmills existed from the earliest antiquity, en Perse, en Irak, in Persia, Iraq, Egypt and China. Hammourabi, king of Babylon had designed,it seems, seventeen centuries before Christ, the project to irrigate the rich plain of Mesopotamia, using wind energy. The mills at the time, in this region, were presumably with vertical axis, and probably analogous to those whose ruins remain in Iran:

propeller history
 

Egyptian Greek Heron of Alexandria(10/70) represents, in a study of the air, a horizontal axis mill that supplies compressed air organ:

.propellers history

In describing the operation of the machine:

..... the second was similar to those windmills wings. When these wings, driven by the wind, Φ disk rotates, the bar also rotates, resulting in its movement and Υ disk cams, coming to knock on the pallet, raise the piston......

......It ...... can move the frames supporting the bar to take advantage of the still prevailing wind and thus produce a movement faster and more continuous rotation...

...We see that the Greeks of Alexandria knew the windmill. The Romans seem to have a very little used of it. Vitruve, Arch., lib. x, cap. v) and Varron (De re rustica, lib. I, cap. XLII) only talk about water mills.

the windmill was it widespread in Egypt? It is difficult to say. However, we can
say without fear of contradiction, that the eastern part of the Mediterranean basin
is with China, where only the vertical-axis machines were known, the birthplace of the aeroengine. It is only during the Middle Ages, that the windmills are emerging in Italy, France and Spain and Portugal. They are found, later, in Great Britain, Holland and Germany..Some authors suggest that their introduction in Europe is due to the Crusaders returning from the Middle East: "Knowledge of windmills came from the Crusades in the eleventh century.. Viollet Leduc (Dict. rais. d’arch., t. iv, p. 405) said they were called in Normandy,in the fourteenth century,Turkish mills, in remembrance of that origin ...." It is not impossible.The machines used here, the horizontal axis type, have four wings placed crosswise. They are mainly used to grind grain and especially wheat. Holland use them starting from 1350,for draining polders. They are then coupled with the bucket wheel or Archimedes screws that can raise the water up to five meters. They are also used to extract oil from nuts and seeds,for sawing wood, turning rags into paper for the preparation of colored powders used in the composition of the dyes, and for the manufacture of snuff which replaced the cigarettes once.

The propeller reappears in Leonardo da Vinci(1452/1519) Leonardo studied the different ways to raise the water, as the screw:

propellers vincipropellers vincipropellers vinci

 This one was the first reported to have said that set in motion in the air or water propeller should move in the direction of its axis.. This is the famous drawing of the helicopter, describing the propeller as a means of vehicle propulsion:

propeller vinci

But this drawing (below) less known is instructive to use the propeller as recovery of the fluid energy. Here the stream of hot air rising through a column above a heat source, is transformed into mechanical energy. Some solar power projects use this process today.The shape of the propeller is incredibly modern here!

propeller vinci

After Leonardo da Vinci, we find the English Hooke : in 1681,he proposed for marine propulsion, wings similar to those of windmills, boats at the time was only moved by paddle wheels.We find this same design with the mathematician Bernoulli in 1752. Proposal similar to the previous two by James Watt in 1784. But the time of the propeller was not yet come :power machinery mounted on boats, did not exceed a few dozen horses, and thus the impellers had not prohibitive size.

It seems that the "first use" of the propeller (as hydraulic motor used to power mills) dates back to 1699.It is due the French mechanic Duquet and the second use, identical to the first, is also due to a French, the mechanic Dubost in 1743.After Leonardo da Vinci, the French Paucton thought to apply to air propeller propulsion. In his "Theory of the Archimedes screw," published in 1768, he describes a helicopter with two "ptérophores" (wings),one vertical axis to ensure the ascent, the other horizontal axis for movement and direction (at the time, issues of propulsion and steering were not yet separated).

The first application of a propeller flying machine scale 1 is due to the French Blanchard (fig. 1) :

history of propellers

In 1784 he equipped a balloon without getting great result neither propulsion nor direction. From this application of the propeller in 1784 should not be inferred that the propeller was immediately adopted and that the following years were spent perfecting this propeller.

After 1784, there was again the balloons that are trying to operate through different systems of oars ; in the project Airship Bredin (same year)propulsion would be provided by paddle wheels. Note the rotation of the blade when it rises (fig. 2)

;history of propellers

 in 1785, on the aerostat Alban and Valet (fig. 3) Powered by some sort of large propeller, vertical movement through reams valves;

in 1785, propelled by oars on the aerostat Guyton de Morveau (fig. 4); history of propellershistory of propellershistory of propellers

propeller "undulating surfaces" on the balloon to ~ Gontier-Grigny in 1860 (fig. 5).

The same year as Blanchard (1784) two French, Launoy and Bienvenu,tried for their reduced model helicopter, the propellers "contra-rotating"..

The propeller imposed fairly rapidly in ballooning, faster than in marine propulsion, we shall see.. And heavier than air knew no other propellant, from its origins to the reaction. However, the propeller of the aerostatic time, and the beginnings of aviation, had no current simplicity. They sometimes resemble the paddle wheel, or fan.

How did we transform the Egyptian snail to the boat's propeller?.

The propeller we know thus derived from the screw :propeller must be screwed into the water as the bolt into the nut.The first marine propellers, by analogy, were very long, and their axis (which was none other than the motor shaft), wore several "pitch" and several "threads" .How did weg o from this form of helix to the current form (fraction of pitch) ? It was chance that decided, like many discoveries:

In 1836, one of the first boats - an English vessel - to be equipped with propeller, broke that one. Here he is immobilized.. He tried come away with the portion of "screw" that remained and, curiously, it was discovered that his speed had increased.. The British remained in their astonishment, and deduced nothing of this fact.. But the French Augustin Normand, he was able to take in the event the capital conclusions, we will see later ...

We left our "water screw" at the time of the experiences of French, Duquet and Dubost.. A few years later, in 1768, Paucton stated that the Archimedes screw could be applied to the propulsion of ships, but no realization ensued.

Then came the English patent Bramah (1785), Americans Lyttelton(1794), Shorter (1799), the french Dallery (1803), American Stevens (1804), frenchs (1820) (fig. 6),

 water screwwater screwDelisle (1823) (fig. 7) Bourdon (1824), Austrian Ressel (1826), Americans Cummerow (1829) and Smith (fig. 8), Woodcroft (1832), french Frédéric Sauvage (1832) (fig. 9).

 water screwwater screw

The contribution of Sauvage is crucial for two reasons : because the first, he proposed a propeller one turn and rather than a screw featuring a long shaft, subsequently because he made ​​several attempts, all successful.If they do not experience the development they deserve, it is only because the official authorities understood nothing of Sauvage experiences. It was necessary the Swedish engineer Ericson, realized a similar propeller, in 1836, for this engine is spreading in England and America. To finally be understood in France that the propeller of Sauvage was infinitely superior to the paddle wheels.

France was going to make a further contribution to the marine propeller, the Augustin Normand.

marine propeller

Normand,Starting from the mishap to the English ship and propeller Wild to one turn, thought it would be useful to split the entire spire (fig. 10)so that new propeller, only comprises the "pitch fractions"taken at regular intervals, on the loop, corresponding to one revolution. The propellant surface was well distributed over several blades :Navy then had its propeller, several blades, which it uses today:

  marine propeller

The history of Sauvage propeller is worth telling:

Frédéric Sauvage, considering that the system of paddle wheels to move the boat was bad, looking for another solution.He found it looking evolve a goldfish in its bowl. «This is the propellant he said. This is the sculling motion of the fish's tail, it constantly resting on the liquid; the sinuous movement is similar to that of the screw, which advances into the water. The same is true for the movement of the feet in the crawl, given the position they should have.

But how mechanically translate the action of the fish's tail ? Sauvage, a cylindrical piece of wood. big as a pencil, draw a line in the form of geometric helix.. On that line and perpendicular to the cylinder axis, it crashes needles very close to each other. It gives the structure of a helical surface, it ends in sticky oiled canvas, on the needles. Such was his first propeller. Mounted on a boat model 27 inches long, it was a success.. It was powered by a counterweight system and pulley.. Sauvage then made a propeller copper-driven counterweight, and clockwork.Then he mounts two propellers turning side by side in opposite directions to balance the boat. An invention patent is granted May 28, 1932..

But the invention of the propeller was against powerful interests linked to the system of paddle wheels. Much like today with the use of fossil fuels . . . ;)

for several years up its propellers on boats, moved to arm men, unable to find the necessary support for the mounting on steamboats. The opportunity is offered to him in 1841 by a a boat builder from Havre, Augustin Normand. The two men approached. Then separate on one point: the fraction of pitch, which was opposed Sauvage. And this is where we find the contribution of Augustin Normand.

water screew marine propeller

propeller Sauvage(type screw), and propeller of Augustin Normand fractionated (type reaction)

This is a major breakthrough in terms of approach to the concept of screw propulsion, which passed the propeller stage screw, stage of thruster "reaction" to meet the principles of Newton(F=m.a)and Action-Reaction. It is from this revolution, accidental (In 1836, one of the first boats - an English vessel - to be equipped with propeller, broke that one. Here he is immobilized.. He tried come away with the portion of "screw" that remained and, curiously, it was discovered that his speed had increased.. The British remained in their astonishment, and deduced nothing of this fact.. But the French Augustin Normand, he was able to take in the event the capital conclusions) that result modern propeller and its method of calculation.

To understand the progress in terms of efficiency and performance calculation hypothesis, the general problem of propeller arises as follows:

Thrust (newtons) is the product of two factors:Thrust=mass(kg) X acceleration (m/sec²)(see newton:F=m.a).This is the change of momentum that generates thrust.

  • L'acceleration (m/sec²) used to calculate the thrust = velocity(m/sec) downstrem propeller - velocity(m/sec) upstream propeller
  • The weight used to calculate the thrust, is the mass moved in a second, This is the mass flow rate (kg / sec)
  • The power required to produce this thrust is the product of two factors : power(watt)= thrust(newton) X velocity(m/sec).

To quantify the performance (quality) of the propulsion, we must distinguish between two forms of power that are involved in the propulsion:

  • The output power observed in terms of displacement, which is useful to us: P.o=velocity upstream X thrust.
  • The kinetic power produced by the propeller. This power is calculated according to the variation of kinetic energy of the fluid.(kinetic energy = mass X 0.5 X speed ²).
    • So the kinetic power of our propeller =
    • = (kinetic energy of the fluid down stream) - (kinetic energy of the fluid upstream)
    • = 0.5 X mass X (velocity upstream)² - 0.5 X mass X (velocity down stream)²
    • = 0.5 X mass X velocity upstream² - velocity down stream²

To understand the reality and the usefulness of these two powers, imagine a boat tied to the dock, or aircraft, before embarking for takeoff, with the brakes applied, which the propeller rotates and produces thrust:

The vehicle being fixed, the velocity is zero, so the output power (P.out=velocity upstream X thrust) is zero. Yet the thrust of the propeller, and its power is real, the propeller rotates and is powered by an engine that consumes energy!It is therefore necessary to quantify, for this, the variation of kinetic energy, the propeller applies fluid is used.. Note that the energy consumed by the propeller when the vehicle is at a stop is wasted! "Good propeller", which makes money by transporting the goods, with a minimum of energy, it is a propeller that will give the maximum useful-energy, with minimal kinetic energy!

Performance (quality) of our propeller is defines as the ratio: output power / kinetic power.

Conclusion: larger the propeller is, the less it will need to change the speed to create thrust, and the better its propulsive efficiency!

This concept is today as it was worth a thousand years ago :it is necessary for high efficiency, High throughput, at the lowest possible speed. But it took thousands of years of meditation, to establish that the propeller form was that which most simply allowed to pushing back a large mass of fluid at low speed.

Bibliographie:

 

"histoire de l'hélice" Jean Grampaix édition D'Argenson 1966

"léonard de Vinci" édition atlas 1986

"le grand livre de l'éolien" Paul Gipe édition du moniteur 2004

Sites internet:

http://remacle.org/bloodwolf/erudits/heron/pneumatiques.htm

Modelisation helice aerienne dans heliciel Modelisation helice bateau dans heliciel Modelisation helice ventilation dans heliciel Modelisation helice eolienne dans heliciel Modelisation hydrolienne dans heliciel Modelisation helice kaplan dans heliciel
Une brève Histoire de l' HELICE

Qu’est-il, en apparence, de plus simple que l’hélice ? Il semble que l’homme n’ait eu qu’à prendre dans la nature une forme aussi bien adaptée à ce qu’il en attendait.

helice

En réalité, il a fallu quelques millénaires pour parvenir à cette mystérieuse simplicité.

l’aile, la roue à aubes, la rame, le moulin a vent les unes et les autres dans des formes diverses. Tels sont les ancêtres de notre hélice...

C’est l’ancienne civilisation chinoise qui utilisa la première l’hélice, comme élévateur d’eau. Et l’on a trouvé des traces de cet élévateur d’eau sur les bords du Nil  où, plusieurs siècles avant l’ère chrétienne, on utilisait le « limaçon égyptien » qui peut être considéré comme une hélice de "déplacement propulsion" de fluide

.

 

C’est, dit on, Archytas(-428/-360), disciple de Pythagore, qui « renouvelle » cette invention. Laquelle fut employée par Archimède (-287/-212)pour un usage différent : comme vis transporteuse permettant d’assurer une translation mécanique horizontale de différents objets. Sous cette forme, la « vis d’Archimède » est encore utilisée dans certaines usines pour évacuer des copeaux d'usinage par exemple.

La conquête de l'énergie éolienne ne date pas d hier et le besoins de transformer l'énergie du vent en énergie mécanique amènera à inventer l'hélice de captage de l'énergie du fluide . L' histoire nous apprend que les moulins à vent existaient déjà dès la plus haute antiquité, en Perse, en Irak, en Égypte et en Chine. Hammourabi, roi de Babylone avait conçu, paraît-il, dix-sept siècles avant Jésus-Christ, le projet d’irriguer la riche plaine de Mésopotamie, à l’aide de l’énergie éolienne. Les moulins utilisés à l’époque, dans cette région, étaient vraisemblablement à axe vertical et sans doute, analogues à ceux dont les ruines subsistent sur le plateau iranien.


 

Le grec égyptien Héron d’Alexandrie(10/70) représente dans une étude consacrée à la pneumatique, un moulin à axe horizontal qui alimente en air comprimé un orgue

.

 Dans la description du fonctionnement de sa machine:

..... le second a des ailes semblables à celles des moulins à vent. Quand ces ailes, mues par le vent, font tourner le disque Φ, la barre tourne aussi, entraînant dans son mouvement le disque Υ et ses cames qui, venant à frapper sur la palette, soulèvent le piston......

......On peut faire mouvoir le bâtis qui soutient la barre de manière à profiter toujours du vent régnant et à produire ainsi un mouvement de rotation plus rapide et plus continu...

...On voit que les Grecs d’Alexandrie connaissaient le moulin à vent. Les Romains paraissent s’en être très peu servis. Vitruve, Arch., lib. x, cap. v) et Varron (De re rustica, lib. I, cap. XLII) ne parlent que des moulins à eau.

le moulin à vent était il très répandus en Égypte ? II est difficile de le dire. On peut toutefois
affirmer, sans crainte d’être démenti, que la partie orientale du bassin méditerranéen
constitue avec la Chine, où seules les machines à axe vertical étaient connues, le
berceau des aéromoteurs. C’est seulement au Moyen Âge, que les moulins à vent font leur apparition en Italie, en France puis en Espagne et au Portugal. On les rencontre, un peu plus tard, en Grande-Bretagne, en Hollande et en Allemagne. Certains auteurs suggèrent que
leur introduction en Europe est due aux Croisés revenus du Moyen-Orient: "La connaissance des moulins à vent nous vint par les croisades au XI e siècle. Viollet Leduc (Dict. rais. d’arch., t. iv, p. 405) dit qu’on les appelait en Normandie, au XIVe siècle, moulins turquois, en souvenir de cette origine.."  Ce n’est pas impossible. Les machines employées ici, du type à axe horizontal, comportent quatre ailes placées en croix. Elles servent principalement à moudre du grain et surtout du blé. La Hollande les utilise à partir de 1350, pour l’assèchement des polders. Elles sont accouplées alors à des roues à godets ou à des vis d’Archimède qui peuvent élever l’eau jusqu’à cinq mètres. On les emploie également pour
extraire l’huile des noix et des graines, pour scier du bois, pour transformer les
vieux chiffons en papier, pour la préparation des poudres de couleur entrant dans lu
composition des teintures et pour la fabrication du tabac à priser qui remplaçait les
cigarettes autrefois.

L'hélice ne réapparaît que chez Léonard de Vinci(1452/1519) ;Léonard étudie les différents moyens de soulever l'eau dont la vis:

 Celui-ci, le premier, aurait affirmé qu’une hélice mise en mouvement dans l’air ou dans l’eau devait progresser dans le sens de son axe. C'est le célèbre dessin de l'hélicoptère décrivant l'hélice comme moyen de propulsion de véhicule:

Mais ce dessin (ci dessous) moins connu de léonard est tout aussi édifiant sur l'utilisation de l'hélice comme captrice de l'énergie d'un fluide. Ici le courant d'air chaud montant dans une colonne au dessus d'une source de chaleur est transformé en énergie mécanique (De nombreux projet de centrales solaires utilisent ce procédé de nos jours..). La forme de l'helice est ici incroyablement moderne!

Après Léonard de Vinci, nous trouvons l’Anglais Hooke : celui-ci, en 1681, proposa pour la propulsion des bateaux, des ailes semblables à celles des moulins à vent, les bateaux étant à l’époque exclusivement mis en mouvement par des roues à aubes. Nous retrouvons cette même conception chez le mathématicien Bernoulli, en 1752. Proposition analogue aux deux précédentes par James Watt en 1784. Mais l’heure de l’hélice n’était pas encore venue : la puissance des machines montées sur les bateaux n’excédait pas quelques dizaines de chevaux et, de ce fait, les roues à aubes n’avaient pas un encombrement prohibitif.

Il semble que la "première utilisation" de l’hélice (en tant que moteur hydraulique servant à actionner des moulins) remonte à 1699. On la doit au mécanicien français Duquet et la seconde utilisation ,identique à la première , serait également due à un Français, le mécanicien Dubost, en 1743.Après Léonard de Vinci, le Français Paucton songea à appliquer l’hélice à la propulsion aérienne. Dans sa « Théorie de la vis d’Archimède », parue en 1768, il décrit un hélicoptère doté de deux « ptérophores » (ailes), l’un à axe vertical, pour assurer l’ascension, l’autre à axe horizontal pour le déplacement et la direction (à l’époque, les questions de propulsion et de direction n’étaient pas encore dissociées).

La première application de l’hélice à un appareil aérien en grandeur est due au Français Blanchard (fig. 1) :

 en 1784 il en équipa un aérostat, sans obtenir grand résultat ni en propulsion ni en direction. De cette application de l’hélice en 1784 il ne faudrait pas déduire que l’hélice fut adoptée d’emblée et que les années suivantes furent consacrées à perfectionner ce propulseur seul.

 Après 1 784, il y eut encore des aérostats que l’on tentait d’actionner au moyen de différents systèmes de rames ; dans le projet de dirigeable de Bredin (même année) la propulsion devait être assurée par des roues à aubes. Remarquez le pivotement de la pale lorsqu' elle remonte (fig. 2)

;

 en 1785, sur l’aérostat d’Alban et Valet (fig. 3) propulsion par une sorte de grande hélice, déplacement vertical au moyen de rames à clapets;

en 1785, propulsion par rames sur l’aérostat de Guyton de Morveau (fig. 4);

propulseur à « surfaces ondulantes » sur l’aérostat ~ de Gontier-Grigny, en 1860 (fig. 5).

La même année que Blanchard (1784) deux autres Français, Launoy et Bienvenu, essayaient pour leur modèle réduit d’hélicoptère des hélices « contra rotatives » .

L’hélice s’imposa assez rapidement dans l’aérostation, plus rapidement que dans la propulsion marine, nous le verrons. Et le plus lourd que l’air ne connut pas d’autre propulseur, de ses origines à la réaction. Toutefois l’hélice de l’époque aérostatique et celle des débuts de l’aviation n’avaient pas la merveilleuse simplicité actuelle ; elles tenaient par- fois de la roue à aubes, de la pagaie, de la rame, du ventilateur. Et, puisque étaient liées dans la pensée des chercheurs la propulsion aérienne et la propulsion marine, comment passa-t-on du limaçon égyptien à l’hélice du bateau ?

L’hélice que nous connaissons découle donc de la vis : l’hélice devait se visser dans l’eau comme le boulon dans l’écrou. Les premières hélices marines, par analogie, étaient très longues et leur axe (qui n’était autre que l’arbre moteur) portait plusieurs « pas », plusieurs « filets ». Comment passa-t-on de cette forme d’hélice à la forme actuelle (à fraction de pas) ? C’est le hasard qui en décida, comme dans beaucoup de découvertes

En 1836, un des premiers bateaux un bâtiment anglais à être muni d’hélice, cassa celle-ci. Le voici immobilisé. Il tenta de repartir avec la partie de « vis » qui lui restait et, chose curieuse, on s'aperçut que sa vitesse avait augmenté. Les Anglais restèrent sur leur étonnement et ne déduisirent rien de ce fait. Mais le Français Augustin Normand, lui, sut tirer de l’événement des conclusions capitales, nous le verrons tout à l’heure...

Nous avons laissé notre « vis hydraulique » à l’époque des expériences des Français Duquet et Dubost. Quelques années plus tard, en 1768, Paucton affirma que la vis d’Archimède pouvait être appliquée à la propulsion des navires, mais aucune réalisation ne s’ensuivit.

Puis ce furent les brevets de l’Anglais Bramah (1 785), des Américains Lyttelton (1794), Shorter (1799), du Français Dallery (1803), de l’Américain Stevens (1804), des Français Rennie (1820) (fig. 6),

 Delisle (1823) (fig. 7) et Bourdon (1824), de l’Autrichien Ressel (1826), des Américains Cummerow (1829) et Smith (fig. 8), Woodcroft (1832), du Français Frédéric Sauvage (1832) (fig. 9).

 

La contribution de Sauvage est capitale pour deux raisons : d’abord parce que le premier, il proposait une hélice à une seule spire et non plus une vis comportant un arbre long, ensuite parce qu’il réalisa plusieurs tentatives, toutes réussies. Si celles-ci ne connurent pas le développement qu’elles méritaient, c’est uniquement parce que les pouvoirs officiels ne comprirent rien aux expériences de Sauvage. Il fallut que l’ingénieur suédois Ericson mît au point un propulseur semblable, en 1836, pour que ce propulseur se généralisa en Angleterre et en Amérique. Pour que l’on comprenne enfin en France que l’hélice de Sauvage était infiniment supérieure aux roues à aubes.

 La France allait apporter une autre contribution à l’hélice marine, celle d’Augustin Normand.

Normand, partant à la fois de la mésaventure survenue au navire anglais et de l’hélice de Sauvage a une seule spire songea qu'il y aurait intérêt a fractionner la spire entière (fig. 10) de façon a ce que le nouveau propulseur ne comporte plus que des "fractions de pas " prises a intervalles réguliers sur cette spire correspondant a un tour. La surface propulsive était ainsi répartie sur plusieurs pales : la marine disposait alors de son hélice à plusieurs pales qu’elle utilise aujourd’hui:

 

L’histoire de l’hélice de Sauvage vaut d’être contée:

Frédéric Sauvage, estimant que le système des roues à aubes pour mouvoir les bateaux était mauvais, cherchait une autre solution. Il la trouva en regardant évoluer un poisson rouge dans son bocal. « Voilà le propulseur qu’il faut, dit-il. C’est le mouvement de godille de la queue du poisson, celle-ci prenant constamment appui sur le liquide ; ce mouvement sinueux est assimilable à celui de la vis qui progresserait dans l’eau. » Il en est de même pour le mouvement des pieds dans le crawl, compte tenu de la position qu’ils doivent avoir.

Mais comment traduire mécaniquement l’action de la queue du poisson ? Sauvage, sur un morceau de bois cylindrique. gros comme un crayon, trace une ligne en forme d’hélice géométrique. Sur cette ligne et perpendiculairement à l’axe du cylindre, il plante des aiguilles très proches les unes des autres. Il obtient ainsi la structure d’une surface hélicoïdale, qu’il termine en collant de la toile huilée sur les aiguilles. Telle fut sa première hélice. Montée sur un bateau modèle réduit de 27 cm de long elle fut une réussite. Elle était mue par un système de contre- poids et poulie de renvoi. Sauvage réalise ensuite une hélice en cuivre, mue par contre poids et mécanisme d' horlogerie. Puis il monte deux hélices tournant cote a cote en sens inverses pour équilibrer le bateau. Un brevet d' invention lui est accordé le 28 mai 1832.

Mais l’invention de l’hélice s’opposait à des intérêts puissants liés au système de roues à aubes. Un peu comme de nos jours avec l'utilisation des énergies fossiles . . . . . ...........

Sauvage, pendant plusieurs années monte ses hélices sur des bateaux mus à bras d’hommes, ne trouvant pas les concours nécessaires pour les monter sur des bateaux à vapeur. La possibilité lui en est offerte en 1841 par un constructeur de bateaux du Havre, Augustin Normand. Les deux hommes se lient. Puis se séparent sur un point précis : la fraction de pas, à laquelle Sauvage était opposé. Et c’est là que nous trouvons l’apport d’Augustin Normand.

Hélice de Sauvage(type vis), et helice d’Augustin Normand fractionnée (type reaction)

C'est une avancée majeur en terme d'approche du concept de propulsion par hélice, qui fait passer l'hélice, du stade de vis, au stade de propulseur à "réaction" répondant au principes de Newton(F=m.a) et Action-Réaction. C'est de cette révolution , accidentelle (En 1836, un des premiers bateaux un bâtiment anglais à être muni d’hélice, cassa celle-ci. Le voici immobilisé. Il tenta de repartir avec la partie de « vis » qui lui restait et, chose curieuse, on s'aperçut que sa vitesse avait augmenté. Les Anglais restèrent sur leur étonnement et ne déduisirent rien de ce fait. Mais le Français Augustin Normand, lui, sut tirer de l’événement des conclusions capitales) que découle notre hélice moderne et sa méthode de calculs.

Pour bien comprendre l'avancée en terme de rendement et d'hypothese de calcul de performance, le problème général du propulseur se pose ainsi :

La poussée(newtons) est le produit de deux facteurs : Poussée=masse(kg) X acceleration (m/sec²)(voir newton:F=m.a).C'est la variation de quantité de mouvement qui génere la poussée.

  • L'acceleration (m/sec²) utilisée pour calculer la poussée = vitesse(m/sec) apres l'hélice - vitesse(m/sec) avant l'hélice
  • La masse utilisée pour calculer la poussée, c'est la masse déplacée en une seconde , c'est le débit massique(kg/sec)
  • La puissance nécessaire pour produire cette poussée est le produit de deux facteurs : Puissance(watt)= Poussée(newton) X vitesse(m/sec).

Pour quantifier le rendement (la qualité) de ce propulseur, nous devons différencier les 2 formes de puissances qui sont en jeu dans la propulsion:

  • La puissance utile constatée en terme de déplacement, celle qui nous est utile: P.Utile=vitesse avant l'hélice X Poussée.
  • La puissance cinetique produite par l'hélice. Cette puissance est calculée simplement d'apres la variation d'énergie cinétique du fluide.(énergie cinetique=0.5 X masse X Vitesse²).
    • Donc la puissance cinétique de notre hélice =
    • = (energie cinetique du fluide apres l'hélice) - (energie cinetique du fluide avant l'hélice)
    • = 0.5 X masse X (vitesse derriere hélice)² - 0.5 X masse X (vitesse devant hélice)²
    • = 0.5 X masse X vitesse derriere hélice² - vitesse devant hélice²

Pour bien comprendre la réalité et l'utilité de ces 2 puissances, imaginons un bateau attaché au quai, ou un avion avant de se lancer pour le décollage avec les freins serrés, dont l'hélice tourne et produit une poussée:

Le vehicule etant fixe, la vitesse est nulle, donc la puissance utile (P.Utile=vitesse avant l'hélice X Poussée) est nulle. Pourtant la poussée de l'hélice, et sa puissance, est bien réelle, l'hélice tourne et est alimentée par un moteur qui consomme de l'énergie! Il faut donc la quantifier, pour cela on utilse la variation d'énergie cinétique que l'hélice applique au fluide. Notons au passage que l'energie consommée par l'hélice lorsque le véhicule est a l'arret est gaspillée! Une "bonne hélice" qui rapporte de l'argent en transportant de la marchandise avec un minimum d'energie, c'est un hélice qui donnera le maximum d'énérgie utile avec le minimum d'énergie cinetique !

Le rendement (la qualité) de notre hélice est donc definit par le rapport: puissance utile / puissance cinetique.

Ce concept vaut de nos jours comme il valait il y a mille ans : il faut, pour un haut rendement, un débit élevé à vitesse aussi faible que possible. Mais il a fallu des millénaires de méditation pour établir que la forme hélice était celle qui, le plus simplement, permettait de refouler une énorme masse d’air à faible vitesse.

Bibliographie:

 

"histoire de l'hélice" Jean Grampaix édition D'Argenson 1966

"léonard de Vinci" édition atlas 1986

"le grand livre de l'éolien" Paul Gipe édition du moniteur 2004

Sites internet:

http://remacle.org/bloodwolf/erudits/heron/pneumatiques.htm