Pitch variation in heliciel Modeling aerial propeller in heliciel Model boat propeller heliciel Modeling propeller ventilation heliciel Propeller wind turbine modeling heliciel Modeling tidal turbine heliciel Kaplan turbine modeling heliciel
Wind turbine blade and blades of propellers
Propeller or a wind turbine comprises essentially a hub and blades. The blade of the propeller or the wind turbine blade can be considered as a rotating wing. The blade shape is defined by profiles, chosen for their aerodynamic performance. Profiles are distributed along the blade of the wind turbine or the propeller, in order to achieve the best compromise between resistance and production of lift.
The rotation of the propeller generates a speed and an apparent angle, which vary depending on the position of the observed point on the radius of the blade. To keep an optimum angle of incidence, the profiles of the blade of the wind turbine or the propeller, will have a pitch adjusted to apparent velocities along the blade. Pitch profiles varies and causes a twist of the blade.twisting of the blade of the propeller or turbine blade, is the angle measured between the chord of the profile at the blade root, and the profile chord at the blade tip.

incidence angle and pitch angle apparent angle on a blade profile

The twist of the blade of the wind turbine or the propeller is related to the operating point. If the operating point varies, the blade twist must be changed. The propeller blades and the blades of wind turbines are generally rigid, them twist is fixed.

pitch profiles varies with their position on the blade. The blade is twisted

Varying the rotational speed or velocity of the fluid relative to the operating point of construction, degrades the performance of the propeller or turbine..
The variation of the pitch is to rotate the blade of the wind turbine or the propeller on its axis so as to correct the loss of performance.The pitch variation also helps regulate the speed of the wind turbines.
The number of blade of the wind turbine or the propeller varies according to the torque and velocity at operating point .A wind pump will not have same number of blade, than wind turbine of electricity generation. A sailing boat propeller has a blade shape different from a speedboat propeller.

 

profile distribution on a blade

We saw in the article distribution chord profiles, that the lift of wind turbine blades and propellers, should be distributed as far as possible from blade tipl eaks , This leads to an elliptical distribution of lift, but not the same distribution of the chords:. The speed of movement of the blade elements being smaller at the root of the blade, the surface should be increased at the foot of the wind turbine blade (.. or the tidal turbine, propeller) to respect the elliptical distribution of lift.

blade propellers aircraft or wind turbines

A compromise between the overhead of matter and the yield earned must be evaluated because the matter used in the blade root is very important. A high aspect ratio of the blades, usually offers better performance, but for boat propeller blade length is reduced by the maximum depth of the propeller shaft, tip velocity of blades quickly generates cavitation when the blade approximates the surface, and limited Draught... These constraints impose very different forms of blades from the shapes of aircraft or wind turbines blade.

boat propeller blades

Blade manufacturing: Materials and technology

the matter and the structure of the blade, are taken into account in the calculation of resistance of the propeller or the wing by Heliciel software.A quick tour of the horizon on the technical materials and construction of the blades will be useful.

For wooden propellers - those of early aviation and those currently still of light aviation- the best material is the walnut. But you can also use mahogany, rosewood, ebony, beech, elm, ash, boxwood, maple. When the wood was replaced by metal, the duralumin was chosen for the vast majority of cases. But duralumin could not be retained after years of working the metal, to develop the forging of the metal. Vers 1920, on savait bien étirer et laminer le duralumin, Around 1920, it was well known stretch and roll the duralumin, but we do not know the forging in volumes large enough to be a propeller blade.. This duralumin under the action of the pestle, was behaving in a way as would a rubber block, instead of gradually taking shape just like a block of steel for example. Currently, duralumin blades are obtained by forging and stamping, with mastered technical.
Of course, we tried to replace the duralumin with a lighter metal : Magnesium alloy. The lightness of the blade is an extremely significant element because the centrifugal forces - tens of tons - are proportional to the density of the material used.The reduction of weight of the blade saves us on all fronts: reducing of: sections, weight, size of the parts of the hub.
However forging blades magnesium requires a more powerful tool, as forging blades duralumin. On the other hand, a solution has been provided by the development of matrixing for the manufacture of the blades. Another material used for the propeller blades: the steel. Steel is used for large propellers, which is hollow,then it is made ​​of two half shells pressed, sealed over their periphery and having internal stiffeners;the durability of the welds naturally asked a long development,sheets "rolling" on each other for the first achievements.
Carbon is increasingly used and seems to impose. The performance of lightness and strength make it material of the future. A perfect mastery of the molding is however need, to a good balance and absence of defects.

propeller carbon

 

 

the propeller blades of boats are generally molded: a mold bed is constructed, and the smoothed out to pitch propeller using a rotating plate around a sliding and guided by a rail axis giving it propeller pitch:

 

shaping mold blade pitch propeller

The bed of the mold is hollowed and formed, with boards, cuts at shape of profiles of the blade.

moulage pale

The top of the mold is made in the same way and the blade is cast.

propeller molding

 

A new generation of propeller is created with carbon entering and winning in the market for boat propeller::

carbon boat propeller

 

The materials used today are mainly fiberglass or carbon saturated polyester resin and epoxy. The wood is used mainly for small-bladed wind turbines, both blade will be cut into the same piece of wood. Connect the wooden blades to a hub can be tricky due to mechanical stress and the centrifugal force.
A construction technique used for small wind turbines is sometimes pultruded fiberglass. The pultruded blades pass through a shape that gives them their profile, but the distribution of chord is necessarily constant.
Molded blade thus help create more efficient aerodynamic shape, than the pultruded blade.

 

constuction wind turbine blade

constuction wind turbine blade

constuction wind turbine blade

 

another method to construct fiber and resin, is to wrap a wire coating resin around the blade by turning on a lathe::

constuction wind turbine blade

again the carbon appeared but it is rather reserved for small wind turbines because of the price of the material.

wind turbine blade carbon

Présentation de la suite de logiciels mecaflux:
Modelisation helice aerienne dans heliciel Modelisation helice bateau dans heliciel Modelisation helice ventilation dans heliciel Modelisation helice eolienne dans heliciel Modelisation hydrolienne dans heliciel Modelisation helice kaplan dans heliciel
Pale eolienne et pales d' helices
Une hélice ou une eolienne comporte essentiellement un moyeu et des pales. La pale de l helice ou la pale eolienne peut etre considérée comme une aile tournante. La forme de pale est définie par des profils choisis pour leur performances aérodynamiques. Les profils sont répartis le long de la pale de l' eolienne ou de l hélice de maniere à réaliser le meilleur compromis entre résistance et production de portance.
La rotation de l' hélice engendre une vitesse et un angle apparent qui varient suivant la position du point observé sur le rayon de la pale. Pour garder un angle d'incidence optimum les profils de la pale de l' eolienne ou de l helice devront avoir un calage ajusté aux vitesse apparentes le long de la pale. Le calage des profils varie et provoque un vrillage de la pale. le vrillage de la pale de l'hélice ou de la pale eolienne est l'angle mesuré entre la corde du profil au pied de pale et la corde du profil au bout de pale de l eolienne ou de l hélice.

angle calage angle incidence et angle apparent sur un profil de pale

Le vrillage de la pale de l eolienne ou de l hélice est lié au point de fonctionnement. Si le point de fonctionnement varie le vrillage de pale doit etre modifié. Les pales d'hélice et les pales d 'eoliennes sont généralement rigides et leur vrillage est donc fixe.

le calage des profils varie avec leur position sur la pale.La pale est donc vrillée

Une variation de la vitesse de rotation ou de la vitesse du fluide par rapport au point de fonctionnement de construction, dégrade les performances de l'hélice ou de l eolienne.
La variation du pas consiste a faire tourner la pale de l eolienne ou de l helice sur son axe de maniere à corriger cette perte de performance.La variation de pas permet aussi de réguler la vitesses des éoliennes.
Le nombre de pale de l eolienne ou de l helice varie suivant le couple et la vitesse au point de fonctionnement. ainsi une éolienne de pompage n'aura pas le meme nombre de pale qu'une éolienne de production d'électricité. Une hélice de voilier aura une forme de pale bien différente d'une hélice de hors bord.

 

distribution des profils sur une un pale

Nous avons vu dans l 'article distribution de corde des profils que la portance des pales des éoliennes et hélices devait etre répartie le plus loin possible des fuites de bout de pale, ce qui conduit à une répartition eliptique de la portance, mais pas des cordes. La vitesse de déplacement des éléments de la pale etant plus faible au niveau du pied de la pale, la surface doit etre augmentée au pied de la pale d'éolienne,d'hélice ou de l ' hydrolienne pour respecter la distribution elliptique de portance.

pales helices avion ou eoliennes

Un compromis entre le surcoût de matiere et le rendement gagné doit etre évalué car la matiere utilisée au pied de pale devient tres importante. Un fort allongement des pales offre en général de meilleur rendement, mais pour les hélices de bateaux la longueur des pales est reduite par la profondeur maximum de l' arbre d'hélice, la vitesse en bout de pales qui génere rapidement de la cavitation lorsque la pale se rapproche de la surface, et le tirant d'eau limité ... Ces contraintes imposent des formes de pales bien différentes que les formes de pale d'avion ou d'éoliennes.

pales hélices bateaux

Fabrication des pales:Materiaux et technique

la matiere et la sructure de la pale sont prises en compte dans le calcul de resistance de l helice ou de l aile par le logiciel Heliciel.Un petit tour d ' horizon sur les techniques et matieres de construction des pales nous sera utile.

Pour les hélices en bois - celles du début de l'aviation et celles encore actuellement de l'aviation légère - le meilleur matériau est le noyer. Mais on peut aussi utiliser l'acajou, le palissandre, l'ébène, le hêtre, l'orme, le frêne, le buis, l'érable. Quand le bois fut remplacé par le métal, c'est le duralumin qui fut choisi pour la grande généralité des cas. Mais le duralumin ne put être retenu qu'après des années de travail de la métallurgie pour mettre au point le forgeage de ce métal. Vers 1920, on savait bien étirer et laminer le duralumin, mais on ne savait pas le forger en volumes assez gros pour constituer une pale d'hélice. Ce duralumin, sous l'action du pilon, se comportait en quelque sorte comme l'aurait fait un bloc de caoutchouc, il se détendait, au lieu de prendre progressivement la forme comme le fait un bloc d'acier par exemple. Actuellement, les pales de duralumin sont obtenues par forgeage et estampage suivant des techniques très au point.
Bien entendu, on a cherché à remplacer le duralumin par un métal plus léger encore : le magnésium en alliage. La légèreté de la pale est un élément extrêmement appréciable car les efforts centrifuges - plusieurs dizaines de tonnes - sont proportionnels à la masse spécifique du matériau utilisé. Allégeant ainsi la pale on gagne sur tous les tableaux: réduction des sections, du poids, de l'encombrement des pièces du moyeu.
Toutefois le forgeage des pales en magnésium nécessite un outillage plus puissant que le forgeage des pales en duralumin. D'autre part, une solution a été apportée par la mise au point du matriçage pour la fabrication des pales. Autre matériau utilisé pour les pales d'hélice l'acier. L'acier est employé pour les hélices de grandes dimensions la pale, qui est creuse, est alors faite de deux demi-coquilles embouties, soudées sur leur pourtour et comportant des raidisseurs internes; la tenue des soudures a naturellement demandé une longue mise au point, les tôles « glissant » l'une sur l'autre aux premières réalisations
Le carbone est de plus en plus utilisé et semble s 'imposer.Les performances de légereté et de résistance en font le materiaux de l 'avenir.Une maitrise parfaite du moulage est cependant nécéssaire pour un bon équilibrage et l absence de defauts.

helice carbone

 

 

les pales des hélices de bateaux sont généralement moulées un lit de moule est construit et surfacé au pas de l'hélice grace a une planche tournant et glissant autour d'un axe guidée par un rail donnant le pas de l'hélice.

 

lissage du moule de pale au pas de l'hélice

Le lit du moule est creusé et formé grace a des planches taillées au formes des profils de la pale.

moulage pale

Le dessus du moule est réalisé de la meme façon et la pale est coulée.

moulage helice

 

Une nouvelle génération d hélice voit le jour avec le carbone qui entre et s'impose sur le marché de l hélice de bateau:

helice carbone bateau

 

Les materiaux utilisés sont aujourd'hui principalement la fibre de verre ou de carbone impreignée de resine de polyester et epoxy. Le bois reste utilisé principalement pour les petites éoliennes bipales dont les deux pales seront taillées dans la meme piece de bois. Raccorder des pales en bois à un moyeu peut s'averer délicat du fait de la fatigue et de la force centrifuge.
Une technique de construction utilsée pour les petite éoliennes est parfois la pultrusion de fibre de verre.Les pales pultrudées passent a travers une filierre qui leur donne leur profil mais la distribution de corde est forcément constante.
Les pales moulées permettent donc de créer des formes aérodynamiques plus performantes que le pale pultrudées.

 

constuction pale eolienne

constuction pale eolienne

constuction pale eolienne

 

une autre methode de construction en fibre et résine consiste a enrouler un fil enduit de résine autour de la pale en la faisant tourner sur un tour:

pale eolienne

la aussi le carbone fait son apparition mais il est plutot réservé au petites éoliennes du fait du prix de la matiere premiere

pale eolienne carbone