Blade element momentum theory: BEM for wind turbines and tidal turbines

Blade element momentum theory is a theory that combines both blade element theory and Froude momentum theory. The Theory of Froude on turbines capture energy "momentum theory" , allowed us to do relation between lnduite axial velocity and thrust force. This theory, assumes that the flow undergoes no rotation, and does not give us indication shape to give our blade..
In reality, the law of conservation of angular momentum requires that the air must have a rotary motion, so that the rotor can extract an outputTorque. In this case, the direction of rotation of flow of the air is opposite to the rotor..
Blade element momentum theory, builds on the results of the theory of froude to estimate the elementary axial force (relative to an element), and introduced performance profiles distributed by elements along the blade.The introduction of the rotational movement of air allows the model to better approximate the reality and get the induced velocities tangential and axial component brought by the theory froude using the variation of momentum induced velocity, thus more reliable results. The introduction of performance Cx and Cz profiles allows to determine the geometry and build a real blade.
The theory of the blade element, allows us to define an axial induction factor (a) and a tengentielle induction factor (a '). Solving a sytem equation iteratively converging introducing performance as Cx and Cz of the blade elements, it provides the induced velocities and therefore the performance of the elements.
We will also see two corrections, one correcting the fact that the number of blade is considered to be infinite in the method of froude (loss factor blade tip Prandtl) and other correcting the results for the strong values ​​of axial induction, where the Froude theory is no longer valid (Glauert correction for factors greater than 0.4 axial induction)

 

In developing this model, the following assumptions are considered

 

The method of Froude uses variations of momentum in a global volume control, here we use the ring elements as volume control, to know the change in amount of elemental movement, for each ring of the rotor. The sum of the performance of these rings give us the overall performance of the propeller..

The change of momentum for a "dr" thick element positioned at radius "r" so give us the axial thrust "T" on the element :

The change of momentum for a "dr" thick element positioned at radius "r" gives the couple "MR" on the element, introducing the induced tangential velocity:

introducing in equations 6.1 and 6.2 of the axial and tangential induction factors (a , a ') described above we obtain:

and

recall that (figure2) we find that:

 

figure2

 

Remind also that the lift dL, is perpendicular to theelement speed Ve and drag dD. If the coefficients of lift and drag are known drag and lift are defined by
  1. Lift force dL(newtons) = 0,5. r. Ve². c .Cl
  2. Drag force dD(newtons) = 0,5.r. Ve². c .Cd
As we are interested in the force generating rotation, thus parallel to the plane of rotation, and the thrust force, therefore perpendicular to the plane of rotation, the drag and lift, will be projected into these two directions. This can be normalized with respect 0,5.r. Ve². c : thus we can see in Figure 2 that and The solidity S is defined as the part of the annular surface of radius r of the control volume which is covered by the blades of the propeller. Solidity S is calculated according: with B, the number of the blade, and c (r) the local chord, and r the radial position of the control volume.
As Pn and Pt are forces per unit length, the thrust T andtorque MR on the volume control of thickness dr is:
Using equation (6.14) for Pn and equation (6.16) for Ve, equation (6.19) becomes:

Using equation (6.15) for Pn and equation (6.16) and (6.17) for Ve, equation (6.20) becomes:

 

If the two equations (6.21) and (6.4) are equalized, and the definition of solidity is applied,
we get the expression of the axial induction factor a:

and if we equate equations (6.22) and (6.25), we obtain the equation of the tangential induction factor a':

Correction of the number of blade
The method froude considered an infinity blade on the rotor disk, the correction factor blade tip losses, derived by Prandtl, is used to correct the performances according to the number of blade.
The F factor is used to correct the equations (6.4) and (6.5), so it becomes respectively:

and

With F loss factor at the blade tip, Prandtl, calculated as:

 

where

B is the number of blades, the radius R at the blade tip, the local radius r of the element and (alphai Phi +) angle fluid seen by the element. (see Figure 2)
Using equations (6.31) and (6.32) instead of equations (6.4) and (6.5), to establish the equations, factors of axial induction (a) and tangential (a'), we obtain:

and

 

Correction high values ​​of axial induction : When the axial induction factor exceeds about 0.4 , the Froude's theory of variations in the amount of movement, is no longer valid. Glauert suggests corrections related to the thrust coefficient. Several empirical relationships between the thrust coefficient Ct, and the axial induction factor, were determined to match the experimental measurements.
We retain that found in Spera(1994) where ac is approximately 0.2.:

The loss factor at the blade tip F is used to correct the assumption of an infinite number of blades. element's thrust is given by:

The thrust coefficient Ct is by definition:

If equation (6.21), giving T is introduced into (6.39) we get for Ct:

So we can now introduce our corrections described by the equation (6.38) :

which gives :

(This does not change our equation (6.35) but:

this gives us:

With:

 

The relations established in this page allow us to create an algorithm converging iterative. It is thus possible to calculate separately the induced velocities, incorporating the corrections Prandtl and Glauert for each blade element. This method uses the performance data profiles. It allows to calculate the thrust and torque on each element.. By adding together these results, the performance of each blade will be found, and the sum of each blade, we will give the overall performance of our propeller.. Algorithm of calculation:
  1. initialize a and a ', a = a' = 0.
  2. calculating the angle (Phi Alpha + i) using equation (6.7)
  3. calculating the angle of incidence (alpha) in utilsant equation (6.6)
  4. import data from the performance database for the angle alpha and the profile element
  5. calculate Ct and Cn following equations (6.12) and (6.13)
  6. calculate a and a 'after the equations (6.44) or (6.42) and (6.36)
  7. if a and a 'is changed by more than a certain tolerance, if not complete return to 2
  8. calculate the forces on the elements

Bibliographic references propeller

Présentation de la suite de logiciels mecaflux:
Modelisation helice aerienne dans heliciel Modelisation helice bateau dans heliciel Modelisation helice ventilation dans heliciel Modelisation helice eolienne dans heliciel Modelisation hydrolienne dans heliciel Modelisation helice kaplan dans heliciel

BEM: théorie de l'élément de pale couplée à la théorie de froude relative aux hélices motrices éoliennes et aéromoteurs

La Theorie de Froude relative aux hélices de captage "momentum théory" , nous a permis de faire la relation entre la vitesse lnduite axiale et la force de poussée.Cette théorie suppose que l’écoulement ne subit aucun mouvement de rotation et ne nous donne aucune indication sur la forme a donner à notre pale.
En réalité, la loi de conservation du moment cinétique, impose que l’air doit avoir un mouvement rotatif afin que le rotor puisse extraire un couple utile. Dans ce cas, le sens de rotation de l’écoulement de l’air est opposé à celui du rotor.
La "BEM" (Blade element momentum), théorie de l'élément de pale couplée à couplée à la théorie de froude, s'appuie sur les résultats de la théorie de froude pour estimer la force axiale élémentaire (relative à un élément), et introduit les performances des profils répartit par éléments le long de la pale. L’introduction du mouvement de rotation de l’air permet à ce modèle de mieux approcher la réalité et d’obtenir les vitesses induites tangentielles et axiales composant la vitesse induite amenée par la théorie de froude utilisant la variation de quantité de mouvement, donc des résultats plus fiables. L'introduction des performances Cx et Cz des profils permet de déterminer la géométrie de la pale, donc de construire concrètement une pale.
La "BEM" (Blade element momentum), théorie de l'élément de pale couplée à couplée à la théorie de froude , nous permet de définir un facteur d'induction axial (a) et un facteur d'induction tengentielle (a') . La resolution d'un syteme d'équation par itérations convergeantes introduisant les performances sous forme de Cx et Cz des éléments de pale, nous permet d'obtenir les vitesses induites et donc les performances des éléments..
Nous verrons aussi 2 corrections, une corrigeant le fait que le nombre de pale est considéré comme infini dans la methode de froude (facteur de pertes en bout de pale de Prandtl), et l'autre corrigeant les resultats pour les fortes valeurs, d'induction axiale , où la theorie de Froude n'est plus valide (correction de Glauert pour les facteurs d'induction axiale supérieure à 0.4)

 

Dans l’élaboration de ce modèle, les suppositions suivantes sont envisagées

 

dans la methode de Froude ,nous avons utilisé les variations de quantité de mouvement dans un volume de controle global, ici nous utiliserons des éléments annulaires comme volumes de controle pour connaitre la variation de quantité de mouvement élémentaire pour chaque anneau du rotor. La somme des performances de ces anneaux nous donnera les performances globales de l'hélice.

figure1

La variation de quantité de mouvement pour un élément d'epaisseur dr positionné au rayon r nous donnera donc la force de Traction T axiale sur l'élément :

La variation de quantité de mouvement pour un élément d'epaisseur dr positionné au rayon r nous donnera le couple MR sur l'élément en introduisant la vitesse induite tangentielle:

en introduisant dans les équations 6.1 et 6.2 les facteurs d'inductions axiales et tangentielles a et a' décrit cidessus nous obtenons:

et

Rappelons que (figure 2) nous constatons que:

 

figure2

 

Rappellons encore que la portance dL est perpendiculaire à la vitesse élément Ve et à la trainée dD. Si les coefficients de portance et de trainée sont connus la trainée et la portance seront definies par
  1. Portance dL(newtons) = 0,5. r. Ve². c .Cl
  2. Trainée dD(newtons) = 0,5.r. Ve². c .Cd
Comme nous somme interessés par la force générant de la rotation donc parallele au plan de rotation et la force de poussée donc perpendiculaire au plan de rotation, la trainée et la portance seront projetées dans ces deux directions. ceci peut etre normalisé en respectant 0,5.r. Ve². c comme: donc nous pouvons voir sur la figure 2 que et que La solidité s est definie comme la part de la surface annulaire de rayon r du volume de controle qui est recouverte par les pales de l'hélice.Cette solidité est calculée d'apres: avec B le nombre de pale et c(r) la corde local et r la position radial du volume de controle.
Comme Pn et Ptsont des forces par unité de longueur, la traction ou poussée T et le couple MR sur le volume de controle d'epaisseur dr est:
En utilisant l'équation (6.14) pour Pn et l'équation (6.16) pour Ve, l'équation (6.19) devient:

En utilisant l'équation (6.15) pour Pn et l'équation (6.16)et (6.17)pour Ve, l'équation (6.20) devient:

 

Si les deux équations (6.21) et (6.4) sont égalisées et que la définition de la solidité est appliquée,
nous obtenons l'expression du facteur d'induction axiale a:

et si nous égalisons les équations (6.22) et (6.25) nous obtenons l'equation du facteur d'induction tangentielle a':

Correction du nombre de pale
La méthode de froude considere une infinité de pale sur le disque rotor, Le facteur de correction de pertes en bout de pale dérivé par Prandtl est utilisé pour corriger les performances en fonction du nombre de pale.
Le facteur F est utilisé pour corriger les équations (6.4) et (6.5), elle deviennent donc respectivement:

et

Avec F facteur de perte en bout de pale de Prandtl calculé comme suit:

 

ou

B étant le nombre de pales, R le rayon en bout de pale, r le rayon local de l'élément et (Phi+ Alphai) l'angle de fluide percu par l'élément. (voir figure 2)
En utilisant les équations (6.31) et (6.32), à la place des équations (6.4) et (6.5), pour etablir les équations des facteurs d'induction axiale a et tangentielle a', nous obtenons:

et

 

Correction des fortes valeurs d'induction axiale : Lorsque le facteur d'induction axiale dépasse environ 0.4 , la theorie des variations de quantité de mouvement de Froude n'est plus valide. Glauert propose des corrections en relation avec le coefficient de poussée. Plusieurs relations empiriques entre le coefficient de poussée Ct, et le facteur d'induction axiale, ont été établies pour correspondre aux mesures expérimentales.
Nous retiendrons celle trouvé dans Spera(1994) ou ac est approximativement 0.2.:

Le facteur de perte en bout de pale F est utilisé pour corriger la supposition du nombre infini de pales.

 

La poussée sur un élément est donnée par:

Le coefficient de poussée Ct est par définition:

Si l'équation (6.21) donnant T est introduite dans (6.39) nous obtenons pour Ct:

Nous pouvons donc maintenant introduire notre correction décrite par l'équation (6.38) : Si a <ac:

ce qui donne :

(ce qui ne change donc pas notre équation (6.35) mais si: a>ac:

cela nous donne:

Avec:

 

Les relations établies dans cette page nous permettent de créer un algorithme de calcul convergeant par itérations. Il est ainsi possible de calculer séparément les vitesses induites integrant les corrections de Prandtl et Glauert pour chaque élément de pale.Cette methode utilise les données de performances des profils. Elle permet de calculer la poussée et couple sur chaque éléments.En sommant ces résultats, les performances de chaque pales seront trouvées et la somme des résutats de chaque pale nous donnera les performances globales de notre Hélice. HELICIEL utilise en partie cette méthode reliée à la base de données de performances de profils interactive pour le calcul des hélices de captage d'énergie.

Algoritme de calcul :

  1. initialiser a et a' ,a=a'=0.
  2. caculer l'angle (Phi +Alpha i) en utilisant l'équation (6.7)
  3. calculer l'angle d'incidence (Alpha) en utilsant l'equation (6.6)
  4. importer les données de performances de la base de données pour l'angle alpha et le profil de 'élément
  5. caculer Ct et Cn d'apres les équations (6.12) et( 6.13)
  6. calculer a et a' d'apres les équations (6.44) ou (6.42)et (6.36)
  7. si a et a' on changé de plus d'une certaine tolérence, retourner en 2 sinon terminer
  8. calculer les forces sur les éléments

 

 

References bibliographique helice