Cavitation propeller and hydrofoils or foils

cavitation forming just after the leading edge

Cavitation is primarily an ebullition of water:

When the ambient pressure becomes lower than the saturated vapor pressure appears cavitation. Cavitation can be caused by a warming of the water or by a pressure drop. Cavitation observed on propellers or hydrofoils is mainly caused by the pressure drop of water in areas where localized pressure drop is observed.

Viewing the surface pressure of marine turbine in the software Heliciel:blade cavitation detection

What resources do we have to avoid cavitation? : See more closely how the cavitation appears and how to detect when designing a propeller:

Detailed results of pressure distribution of the blades elements in heliciel software

pressure on the blade

  1. The lift applied to the upper surface is the result of the vacuum created by the profile shape. If this depression reduces the ambient pressure below the saturation vapor pressure, the blade cavite. This cavitation forms a gas pocket which covers the maximum point of depression concentrated around the center of lift of the profile. cavitation If left on the blade without localized beyond the trailing edge, the lift is s' not necessarily collapse because depression of the pocket continues to suck the upper surface, but the elasticity gas pocket prevents the increase the lift as effectively as in the liquid. Any increase in lift will be transformed into gas expansion. It follows an increase in the volume of the pocket and its surface in contact with the upper surface. This increase in surface depression further increases lift, but when the surface of the pocket reaches the trailing edge and covers the entire width of the profile, the performance 's collapse. Some research leads to the conclusion that when the cavitation is moderate it can even increase performance because it reduces friction. But the constantly changing operating conditions propellers make this range very complex to master, and we will prefer not to risk a total loss of performance, so we keeping our propeller as far as possible from the cavitation zone.
  2. The drag of the profile can generate a negative pressure, shown on the rear of the profile. If streaks applies over an area equivalent to the frontal surface (super cavitating profiles). this lowers the ambient pressure below the saturated vapor pressure, and the blade may cavitate.
It is therefore essential to assess whether cavitation is concentrated around the point of lift or if it applies to the entire surface of the profile. To better assess the risk of loss of performance, thus Heliciel differentiates three types of depressions on the propeller blade:
  1. Depression concentrated (lift applied symmetrically around the point of lift)
  2. Depression distributed over the surface (lift applied over the entire surface)
  3. Depression drag applied on an area equal to the front surface
Evolution curves risk of cavitations drag, lift concentrated and distributed according to the rotational speed in Tab heliciel optimize / (multiple analysis operating points) :

Evolution of the depressions on the blades as a function of the speed of rotation of a propeller with software HELICIEL

Viewing the risk of cavitation (drag, lift distributed, concentrated lift) for each element from the foot to the end of the blade.

graphic cavitation

How The profile shape manages the distribution of depression on the upper surface so the tendency to cavitation Profile?
the lift applied to the surface of the upper surface of blade gives us the depression due to the lift. But as we have seen earlier, this lift is not uniformly applied on the upper surface, in fact, the point of application of the lift on the profiles is usually located around 0.25 times the profile chord starting from the leading edge.(Heliciel software uses data profiles to find the point of lift).

extract from the database HELICIEL

profile aerodynamic hydrodynamics (extract from the database héliciel)

Depression is concentrated around the point of lift. We can roughly estimate that the depression will be equal to the lift applied symmetrically around the point of lift. For a point lift at 0.25 times the rope: 0.25 front and 0.25 rear, which reduce the surface action 0.5 times the upper surface of the lift if the point is 0.25 times the rope. Depression will be max: Depression = (Lift force N) / (0.5 X surface_extrados). If the point of application of the lift of the profile is located at of the leading edge 0.35, héliciel considers that the suction zone is concentrated (0.35 X 2) = 0.7 times the area of ​​the upper surface. We just imagine that a profile generating its lift closest to the center of the rope, (0.5) distribute its lift on the entire surface of the upper, so the depression will be low. Profiles with a lift point near the center are less prone to cavitation!
Several theories explain the phenomenon of lift: ome expressed that the phenomenon is not sufficient to explain all the lift forces.

 

In any case, one thing is certain is that a vacuum is generated on the upper surface and pressure is generated on the underside. (If the angle of incidence generates lift). The fact is that the lift is concentrated in the area between the edge (just after) and the point where the fluid is no longer forced to change direction. The area where the fluid is no longer obliged to change direction, it is the area of ​​maximum thickness if the incidence (attack angle) is zero.

 

 

The suction zone is distributed, from leading edge (next) to the point where the upper surface is parallel to the fluid stream. The lift point is in the middle of this area. The cavitation zone is therefore around the point of lift:

 

In the curve of lift coefficient on a profile in the software Heliciel (below), The pink curve shows the distribution of depression on the upper surface. Point 0 of the x-axis corresponds to the leading edge and point 1 corresponds to the trailing edge. The blue curve represents the intrados. (The y-axis is reversed: positive values under the x-axis)

 

If one angle of incidence is given to the profile, the point where the suction becomes parallel to the fluid, approaches of the leading edge and reduces the area where the lift is concentrated. Thus depression focuses and cavitation will appear more elift curveasily. If you look at a profile, and its upper surface, you know that the point of lift is approximately halfway between the leading edge and the area parallel to the flow:

.cavitation bubbles

More the area of max thickness is moved back, the more particles continue to accelerate a long time, thus distributing their area of ​​depression over a larger area. The same lift force spread over a large surface generates less depression concentrated. Profiles of the propeller blades operating in the water should have a max thickness rearmost possible so as not cavitate too soon.

 

Below is a profile lift of high concentration that might cavitate easily :

depression concentrated front

Below is a profile of low concentration but the rear lift may generate a lot of drag because of its thickness! This profile may be not cavitate because of the lift but because of its drag.

depression Tail profile

Below is a profile which spread the best its lift without creating too much drag:

depression distributed cavitation

These forms are taken as an example and are not qualified for a propeller Here is a more classic marine profile

(extracted from the database Heliciel software):

non-cavitating profile

Répartion de portance d'un profil dans Heliciel . Forme classique de profil aérien(extrait de la base de données héliciel):

lift coefficient curve

Photo of a foil with a thickness max on the rear distributing its lift. better than the rudder (vertical) which supports it. It is a good example of the importance of the choice of profilescavitation profile
Cavitation is a complex topic that is approached only superficially on this page. For further reading I invite you to consult the thesis on cavitation from Mr Surasak PHOEMSAPTHAWEE which is in my humble opinion a useful reference.

Cavitation
Présentation de la suite de logiciels mecaflux:
Modelisation Ailes ou foils dans heliciel Modeliser une voile mat aile dans heliciel Modelisation helice aerienne dans heliciel Modelisation helice bateau dans heliciel Modelisation helice ventilation dans heliciel Modelisation helice eolienne dans heliciel Modelisation hydrolienne dans heliciel Modelisation helice kaplan dans heliciel

Cavitation helice hydrofoils ou foils

cavitation se formant juste apres le bord d'attaque

La cavitation est principalement une mise en ébullition de l'eau.:

Lorsque la pression ambiante devient inférieure à la pression de vapeur saturante la cavitation apparaît. La cavitation peut être provoquée par un réchauffement de l'eau ou bien par une baisse de pression. Le phénomène de cavitation observé sur les hélices ou les hydrofoils est principalement provoqué par la baisse de pression de l'eau localisée dans les zones ou une chute de pression est observée. .

Visualisation des pressions à la surface d'une hydrolienne dans le logiciel Heliciel:

detection cavitation sur pale

De quels leviers dispose t'on pour éviter la cavitation? : Voyons de plus pres comment la cavitation apparait et comment la détecter lors de la conception d'une hélice:

Résultats détaillés de distribution pression par élément pale dans Héliciel

pressions sur la pale

  1. La portance appliquée sur l'extrados est le résultat de la dépression générée par la forme du profil. Si cette dépression abaisse la pression ambiante au dessous de la pression de vapeur saturante, la pale cavite. Cette cavitation forme une poche de gaz qui couvre le point de dépression maximum concentré autour du centre de portance du profil. cavitation Si elle reste localisée sur la pale sans dépasser le bord de fuite, la portance ne s' effondre pas forcement, car la dépression de la poche continue à aspirer l'extrados, mais l 'élasticité du gaz de la poche empêche d' augmenter la portance aussi efficacement que dans le liquide.Toute augmentation de portance sera transformée en détente du gaz. Il s'en suit une augmentation du volume de la poche et de sa surface en contact avec l'extrados. Cette augmentation de surface de dépression permet d'augmenter encore la portance, mais Lorsque la surface de la poche atteint le bord de fuite et couvre toute la largeur du profil, les performances s' effondrent. Certaines recherches aboutissent au constat que lorque la poche de cavitation reste modérée elle permet meme d'augmenter les performances du fait qu'elle diminue le frottement. Mais les variations constantes des conditions de fonctionnement des hélices rendent cette plage tres complexe a maitriser, et l'on preferera ne pas risquer une perte totale de performances, en restant le plus éloigné possible de la zone de cavitation.
  2. La traînée de forme de profil est elle aussi génératrice de dépression, localisée sur l'arriere du profil. Si la traînée s' applique sur une surface équivalente a la surface frontale (profils super cavitants) ceci abaisse la pression ambiante au dessous de la pression de vapeur saturante, la pale peu caviter.
Il est donc essentiel d' évaluer si la cavitation reste concentrée autour du point de portance ou si elle s' applique sur toute la surface du profil. Afin de mieux évaluer le risque de pertes de performances, Heliciel différencie donc 3 types de dépressions su la pale d'hélice:
  1. Dépression concentrée (portance appliquée symétriquement autour du point de portance)
  2. Dépression répartie sur la surface(portance appliquée sur toute la surface)
  3. Dépression de traînée appliquée sur une surface égale a la surface frontale
Courbes d'évolution du risque de cavitations concentrée, de trainée, et de portance répartie en fonction de la vitesse de rotation dans heliciel Onglet optimiser/(analyse multiples points de fonctionnement) :

evolution des dépressions sur les pales en fonction de la vitesse de rotation d'une hélice avec le logiciel HELICIEL

Affichage du risque de cavitation (trainée,portance repartie,portance concentrée) pour chaque éléments du pied au bout de la pale.

graphique cavitation

Comment La forme du profil permet de gérer la répartition de la dépression sur l'extrados donc la tendance à caviter d'un profil?
la portance appliqué sur la surface de l'extrados de pale nous donne la dépression due a la portance. Mais comme nous l' avons vu plus haut, cette portance n'est pas uniformément appliquée sur l'extrados, en fait le point d' application de la portance sur les profils est généralement situé autour de 0.25 fois la corde de profil en partant du bord d'attaque.(Héliciel utilise les données du profils pour trouver le point de portance).

extrait de la base de données HELICIEL

profil aérien(extrait de la base de données héliciel)

La dépression est concentrée autour du point de portance et l'on peu estimer approximativement que la dépression sera égale à la portance appliquée symétriquement autour du point de portance, soit 0.25 devant et 0.25 derrière, ce qui réduit la surface d' action a 0.5 fois la surface de l'extrados si le point de portance est à 0.25 fois la corde.La dépression max sera donc: Dépression = (portance N)/ (0.5 X surface_extrados) . Si le point d' application de la portance sur le profil est situé à 0.35 du bord d'attaque, héliciel considère que la zone de dépression est concentrée sur (0.35 X2) = 0.7 fois la surface de l'extrados. On peu imaginer qu 'un profil générant sa portance le plus proche possible du centre de sa corde, (0.5) répartira sa portance sur toute la surface de son extrados, donc diminuera la dépression max. Les profils avec un point de portance reculé sont donc moins sujets à la cavitation!
Plusieurs théories expliquent le phénomène de portance: Certains expriment que le phénomène n'est pas suffisant pour expliquer la totalité des forces de portance.

 

En tout cas une chose est certaine c'est qu' une dépression est générée sur l'extrados et un surpression est générée sur l'intrados. (si l'angle d' incidence génère de la portance). Le fait est que la portance est concentrée dans la zone entre le bord d'attaque (juste après) et le point ou le fluide n'est plus obligé de changer de direction. La zone ou le fluide n'est plus obligé de changer de direction, c'est la zone d' épaisseur max si l' incidence est nulle.

 

 

 

Dans la courbe de coefficients de portance sur un profil dans le logiciel Heliciel (ci dessous), La courbe rose indique la répartition de la dépression sur l'extrados. le point 0 de l'axe des x correspond au bord d'attaque et le point 1 correspond au bord de fuite. La courbe bleu represente l'intrados.(l'axe des y est inversé:les valeurs positives sont sous l'axe des x)

courbe portance

Si une incidence est donnée au profil, le point ou l'extrados devient parallèle au fluide, se rapproche du bord d'attaque et réduit la zone ou la portance se concentre. Ainsi la dépression ce concentre et la cavitation apparaîtra plus facilement. Si vous regardez un profil et son extrados, vous savez que le point de portance se situe environ a mi chemin entre le bord d'attaque et la zone parallèle au courant

.bulles cavitation

Plus la zone d' épaisseur max est reculée plus les particules continuent a accélérer longtemps, répartissant ainsi leur zone de dépression sur une plus grande surface.La même force de portance étalée sur un grande surface génère moins de dépression concentrée. Les profils des pales d'hélices évoluant dans l'eau devront avoir une épaisseur max la plus en arrière possible pour ne pas caviter trop vite.

 

Ci dessous, un profil a forte concentration de portance risquant de caviter facilement :

depression concentree avant

Ci dessous, un profil a faible concentration de portance mais dont l'arriere risque de générer beaucoup de traînée du fait de son faible effilement! Ce profil ne cavitera peut être pas a cause de la portance mais à cause de sa traînée

depression bord fuite

Ci dessous, un profil qui répartie au mieux sa portance sans créer une trop forte traînée:

depression repartie cavitation

Ces formes sont prise pour exemple et n' ont pas les qualités requises utilisées pour un hélice car elle ne gênèrent pas de portance. Voici une forme plus classique de profil marin

(extrait de la base de données héliciel):

profil non cavitant

Répartion de portance d'un profil dans Heliciel . Forme classique de profil aérien(extrait de la base de données héliciel):

courbe coefficient portance

Cette photo d'un foil au profil dont L'épaisseur max est très reculée répartissant mieux sa portance que le safran(vertical) qui le supporte est un bon exemple de l' importance de choix des profilscaitation profil
La cavitation est un sujet complexe qui n'est abordé que très superficiellement sur cette page . Pour approfondir le sujet je vous invite a consulter la thèse sur la cavitation de Mr Surasak PHOEMSAPTHAWEE qui est à mon humble avis une référence précieuse.